2019 Aurora Spring Open – details

CFC/FIDE Rated Chess Tournaments
with the minimum 1000 CAD first prize in Master Section


JU1000 March 30 (Saturday only)
All other sections March 30-31 (Saturday & Sunday)

Round Times

Saturday (March 30)
Sunday (March 31)
1 2 3 4 5
9:30 am 2 pm 6:30 pm 10 am 2:30 pm

JU1000 section only

Saturday (March 30)
1 2 3 4 Tie-break blitz
9:30 am 11:30 am 2:30 pm 4:30 pm asap


Newmarket Old Town Hall, 460 Botsford Street, Newmarket, Ontario, L3Y 1T1


Master, U2100, and U1700 - rated CFC & FIDE rated;
U1300, and JU1000 - rated with CFC regular rating.

JU1000 - for juniors (under 20 years) only with ratings 999 and below, including unrated juniors. This section is a four (4) round tournament, and only on Saturday, March 30.

Compositions of other sections:

Master - rating 2100 or higher;
U2100 - with ratings from 1700 to 2099;
U1700 - with ratings from 1300 to 1699;
U1300 - with ratings 1299 and below, and unrated adults;

CFC ratings are used for pairings and selecting sections. Other ratings (except online) might be considered, please contact organizers for your special case.


5 Round Swiss. Pairing software – SwissManager. Two half-point byes may be requested in advance for Rounds 1-4.

JU1000 section only 4 rounds on Saturday. If first three places are shared, blitz games will be played to determine top three winners.


Monetary prizes in Master, U2100, U1700, and U1300 sections. First prize in Master Section – minimum 1000 CAD based on 150 players. For unrated players max prize is 100 CAD.

JU1000 - trophies for three first places and participant ribbons to all players.

Time Control

90 minutes per player + 30 seconds per move starting from move one. Default time is 30 min, except the first round - 60 minutes. (FIDE rules 6.7.1 “Any player who arrives at the chessboard after the default time shall lose the game unless the arbiter decides otherwise.”)

JU1000  - 55 minutes per player  + 5 seconds per move starting from move one.

Entry fees

Paid by March 24 (Sunday 11:59 pm) - 80 CAD
Paid by March 29 (Friday 1 pm) - 100 CAD
Tournament day - 120 CAD; paired for Round 2

Only for JU1000 section - 50 CAD by March 24 (Sunday 11:59 pm). Later 70 CAD (till March 29, 1 pm). Tournament day 90 CAD, paired for Round 2.

GM, WGM, IM and WIM free entry if confirmed by March 1.

For an additional Play-up fee – 30 CAD – a player can enter the higher Section if his/her rating is within 100 points than the Section floor limit.

Play-up ratings for sections:

Master - 2000-2099;
U2100 - 1600-1699;
U1700 - 1200-1299;


Players must be CFC members in good standing to register to Master, U2100, U1700, and U1300 sections.

Only players who have registered and paid by March 29 will be paired for Round one. Round one pairings will be posted in advance on this site late Friday night. You no longer need to “check-in” on Saturday as in previous tournaments. Several ways to register by March 29:

  1. Credit card via Paypalclick here to enter the registration page – all major credit cards accepted.
  2. In person: on Mondays at the Aurora Chess Club and paying cheques or cash.
  3. Mail a cheque: it must arrive before March 21. Please include the player’s name and CFC number. Use the form at the bottom of the page to inform us about your intention to play. Address:
    Aurora Chess Club
    913 Tegal Place
    Newmarket, ON
    L3X 1L3.


If a registered player cancels:

  • before 1 pm on March 29– full refund;
  • after– no refund for cancellation.


Chess sets and clocks are provided for play.

Coffee and water provided.

Free parking. Please see the Newmarket parking map in a pdf file.

Great facilities and restaurants within walking distance on the famous Newmarket Main street.


Tournament Director - Chris Tapping. Chief Arbiter - Egidijus Zeromskis.


Questions or requests:

Hall of Fame

2018 Fall
1-2 N. Noritsyn and T. Migot

2018 Spring
1-3 A. Hambleton, T Krnan, S. Rek

2017 Fall
1-3 A. Hambleton, S. Marin, N. Noritsyn

2017 Summer
1. J. Cai

2017 Spring
1. K. Yang

2016 Fall
1. J. Cai

2016 Spring
1. Y. Zhang

2015 Fall
1. M. Plotkin

2015 Summer
1. S. Noritsyn

2015 Spring
1. B Sambuev

2014 Fall
1. R. Preotu

2014 Summer
1. B. Sambuev

2014 Spring
1. B. Sambuev

2013 Fall
1. V. Plotkin

2013 Summer
1. N. Noritsyn